New Delhi:Calcutta high court senior judge Aniruddha Bose will be the new chief justice of Delhi high court. The Delhi high court chief justice post was laying vacant following the retirement of justice G Rohini on April 13, 2017. Justice Gita Mittal has been the acting chief justice of the Delhi High Court since then.

Chhattishgarh high court chief justice TB Radhakrishnan will be transferred as the new chief justice of Andhra Pradesh & Telengala high court. Similarly, the Meghalaya chief justice Dinesh Maheshwari will be transferred as the new chief justice of Karnatak high court.

Allahabad high court senior-most judge Tarun Agrawala will be the new chief justice of Meghalaya.

The supreme court collegium comprising of chief justice Dipak Mishra, justice J Chelameswar and justice Ranjan Gogoi Friday made public the names it has recommended for appointment as chief justices of 10 high courts. The recommendations, made on January 11 by the collegium, have been posted on the official website of the apex court.

The recommendations have been made for the high courts of Delhi, Meghalaya, Chhattisgarh, Calcutta, Karnataka, Telangana and Andhra Pradesh, Tripura, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala and Manipur.

Calcutta senior most judge Jyotirmay Bhattacharya and Kerala high court senior-most judge  Antony Dominic will be the chief justice of  Calcutta and Kerala high courts respectively. Both the justices were due to retire this year.

“In this connection, the collegium has invoked the provision of the Memorandum of Procedure which provides for elevation of a puisne(a term used for any other judge who is junior to the chief justice) judge as chief justice in his own high court if he has one year or less to retire,” the collegium said.

“It is made clear that the collegium while making the above recommendation is conscious of the fact that Justice Jyotirmay Bhattacharya hails from Calcutta High Court and is due to retire in September this year.

Gujarat high court judge Abhilasha Kumari will be the chief justice of Manipur high court.

Similarly, the Patna high court judge Ajay Kumar Tripathi will be the chief justice of Chhattisgarh high court, while justice Surya Kant has been recommended for elevation as chief justice of the Himachal Pradesh HC.

Justice Ajay Rastogi, a judge of the Rajasthan High Court, has been nominated as chief justice of the Tripura high court.

The collegium has also recommended transfer of Guwahati High Court judge Hrishikesh Roy to Kerala High Court.

The collegium also recommended the elevation of justice Sheo Kumar Singh, currently an additional judge, as a Permanent Judge of the Allahabad high court.