Bhubaneswar: Puttasingh of Rayagada district, Marichmal of Koraput district, Kuarmunda of Sundargarh district and Raibania of Balasore district have been recommended for inclusion in the Rurban Mission Odisha in addition to the 10 areas taken up earlier. The four clusters cover 20 gram panchayat areas.

The investment for development of these 4 areas was estimated around Rs.305.65 cr. This amount would be invested through 4 different ICAP (Integrated Cluster Development Plan) designed for each area.

Projects of worth Rs 230.34 cr would be implemented through convergence of various programmes and schemes in these four new areas. The balance amount of around Rs. 75.30 cr would be provided both by Central and state government on 60:40 sharing basis as Critical Gap Funding (CGF)

The State Level Empowerment Committee ( SLEC), held under the chairmanship of chief secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi, here on Friday, has recommended the four new areas for inclusion in the Rurban Mission in Odisha. State panchyati raj principal secretary  Deoranjan Kumar Singh presented the proposals and outlined the procedures to be adopted in planning and execution of developmental activities in these rurban villages.

With this the number of areas taken up under Rurban Mission in Odisha   would increased to 14.

Considering the proposed micro action plans, chief secretary  directed to focus on new income generating avenues and sustainable livelihood supporting activities in each cluster. Padhi further directed to prioritize the projects for enhancing basic service delivery.  The action plans for these areas were designed keeping in view the development of well planned rurban clusters in future.

Principal secretary said that earlier 10 semi-urban and peri-urban areas were included under Rurban Mission in two phases. The SLEC approved 4 new areas for inclusion in Phase-III of the Mission.

The projects for economic infrastructure, skill development, establishment of agro-processing units,  inter-village connectivity, piped water supply, irrigation, solid waste management, digital connectivity, street lights, sanitation , sustainable livelihood , health services,  citizen service center, LPG connections were found  as common felt needs in these areas.  “These clusters would be developed as rurban villages preserving the nature and essence of rural community life with urban facilities”, said Mission Leader Pranab Jyoti Nath. He further added that the IACP approved in the SLEC would be sent to the Centre for approval. The state nodal officer of the Mission, Swayam Prava Mohanty, said, “Each cluster would be developed and managed as one planning area.

Principal secretary finance Sri Tuhin Kanta Pandey, principal secretary school & mass education Pradeepta Kumar Mohapatra, secretary SC & ST development R.Raghu Prasad participated in deliberations.