Cuttack: The Fifth Annual Convocation of the students of National Law University, Odisha (NLUO) was held here on Sunday. The chief justice of India(CJI) Dipak Misra presided over the occasion and the former judge of high court of Australia, Michael Kirby delivered the convocation address Justice Kirby was also conferred with the Degree of Doctor of Laws (LLD) (Honoris Causa) by the university. The chief justice of Odisha high court justice Vineet Saran who is also the chancellor of the NLUO awarded the degrees to the pass out students.

A total of 167 graduands were awarded degrees, including 49 LLMcandidates, and 118 from undergraduate courses – 57 and 59 candidates respectively from the BA LLB and BBA LLB streams. A total number of 18 gold medals were given to students in the convocation this year.  

Out of the 18 gold medals, NLU Odisha has instituted six, while various dignitaries of the legal fraternity have donated the remaining twelve.

Meghmala Mukherjee received the highest number of gold medals- seven gold medals.She was awarded the M.L. Mitra Memorial Gold Medal for first rank in B.B.A L.L.B (Hons.), SKS Juris Legal Group Gold Medal, Gagan Bihari Das Memorial Gold Medal, Ras Behari Ray Gold Medal, Nisamoni Devi and Bhagabat Charan Mohanty Memorial Gold Medal, Satyakamal Memorial Gold Medaland the Smt. Pavani Easwara Lakshmi Memorial Gold Medal.

Diya Dasgupta was awarded three gold medals – University Gold Medal for third rank in BA LLB, State Bank of India Gold Medal and the Ananta Misra & Annapurna Misra Gold Medalfor Best All-Round Female Student.

The Dinabandhu Sahu Memorial Trust for first rank in BALLB was awarded to Shobhit Ahuja. The University Gold Medal for second rank in BA LLB was awarded to Swastika Chakravarti. University Gold Medals for second and third rank in BBA LLB were awarded to Vinti Agarwal and Ankita Sen. The Shri Bichitrananda Mahanty Memorial Gold Medal for All-Round Male Student was awarded to Vishesh Mehrotra, the Madhusudan Mohanty Memorial Gold Medalto S. Vivek, and the University Gold Medal for Highest Score in Intellectual Property Laws in the B.B.A.,LL.B. (Hons.) /B.A.,LL.B. (Hons.) Degree was awarded to Shreya Singhal. The University Gold Medal for the first rank in L.L.M for batch 2017-18 was awarded to Bhallamudi Venkata Mallela Rakshith.

Three journals – NLUO Law Journal, Human Rights Law Journal and NLUO Students Journal were released. The NLUO registrar Dolly Jabbal was present on the occasion.