Narendrapur: Tata Steel BSL has been awarded with Odisha State Energy Conservation Award 2019 for its plant located at Narendrapur in Odisha’s Dhenkanal district at the National Energy Conservation Day Celebration 2019 in Bhubaneswar. This Meritorious Performance Award is in the category of Captive Power Plant above 100 MW.

Tata Steel BSL chief of environment Saroj Kumar Banerjee received the award from Odisha minster for energy Dibya Shankar Mishra.

The State energy secretary BishnupadaSethi, director Centre of Environment Sudies Prof. Dr. Ashutosh Debata and enigneer-in-chief electrical and chief electrical inspector Santosh Das were present.

Banerjee said, “While carrying out the existing projects on energy conservation, we are exploring new ways and technologies to raise the bar and push for industry benchmarks in the field.

The company got the recognition for improving energy conservation performance by reducing carbon footprint, fossil fuel consumption, generating more power through waste heat recovery and implementing energy efficiency projects. etc.

Tata Steel BSL vice president (blast furnace) Rajesh  Srivastava, vice president central electrical maintenance, Rajesh Agarwal, AVP, coke plant 2 Amar Bountra and head of environment K C Das were present on the occasion.

More than 100 applications were filed to the State energy department in different categories.