Bhubaneswar: The 68th All India Police Hockey Championship 2019 began at Kalinga Stadium, here on Monday.

In the four matches played on the opening day, Border Security Force, Chhattisgarh Police Force, Tamilnadu Police and Uttarakhand Police emerged as winners.

In the first match played between BSF and the Gujarat Police, the BSF team made a clean sweep by 10-0. In the second match between Chhattishgarh Police and Madhya Pradesh Police, the former came out as victorious with 4-2 goals. The third match between the Tamil Nadu Police and Manipur Police, the southern team battled it out by 3-2.

The final match was played between the Uttarakhand Police and Rajasthan Police. Uttarakhand team stole the match defeating Rajasthan by 6-0.

The Championship tournament was inaugurated by DGP Abhay at 7th OSAP Battalion ground, here on Monday morning. The Special Director General Intelligence Satyajit Mohanty, Police Commissioner Sudhansu Sarangi, IGP Operation Amitabh Thakur graced today’s matches of the tournament. Dig Vijaya Nayak acted as director of the matches.

The Championship tournament will be held upto December 24. Over 500 players and 200 officers representing 25 teams of State police force and Central forces.