IOC Director(HR) Ranjan Kumar Mohapatra receives the awards from former India Cricket Captain Mohammad Azharuddin.

Gopichand coach of the year, Cricketer Rohit Sharma sportsman of the year

Mumbai: Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) has been awarded the Best PSU/Corporation for the promotion of sports at the annual Sportstar ACES Award ceremony here in Mumbai.

IOCian and India opener Rohit Sharma was adjudged best Sportsman of the Year (Cricket).

Padma Bhushan and Dronacharya Awardee Pullela Gopichand was honoured as the Coach of the Year.

Ranjan Kumar Mohapatra, Director (Human Resources), received the honour on behalf of the Indian Oil Corporation.

Speaking on the occasion, Mohapatra said, “Indian Oil takes pride in promoting sports in a big way. We recognise sports as a tool for holistic development. Budding sports persons are recruited in their formative years, and many of them have gone on to win laurels for the country and Corporation.”

Indian Oil has identified ten games as its thrust area: Cricket, Hockey, Badminton, Tennis, Table Tennis, Golf, Billiards/Snooker, Athletics, Chess & Carrom.

IOCian Pullela Gopichand receives the award from former India Football Captain Bhaichung Bhutia.

Over the years, Indian Oil has recruited over 100 sportspersons including cricketers Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane; shuttlers P Gopichand, K Shrikant, P Kashyap; athlete Hima Das, paddlers Sharath Kamal, Manika Batra; hockey players Devesh Chauhan, Deepak Thakur, Prabhjot Singh; tennis players Rohan Bopanna, Divij Sharan, Sumit Nagal; and many more.