Bhubaneswar: With resurgence of SARS-CoV 2 and cases of Triple Mutant variant of COVID-19 reported from neighbouring West Bengal and other States, Odisha government has stepped up surveillance in the State.

The government of Odisha in Revenue & Disaster Management (Disaster Management) Department, in exercise of the powers conferred under Section 24(1) of the Disaster Management Act, 2005 read with Rule 8(1) of the Odisha Disaster Management Rules,2010, do hereby issue the following directions (to Collector Balasore, Mayurbhanj & Jharsuguda):

  1. Collectors of Balasore, Mayurbhanj are hereby directed to put Border Check Posts (BCP) onall inter-State roads (NH, State roads and local roads) along West Bengal border with immediate effect.
  2. The District Administrationsshall ensure border tracking for all the major and minor entry points for incoming people from State of West Bengal adjoining their districts. Adequate police arrangement may be made for such tracking.
  3. Anyone coming to Odisha from West Bengal by personal / hired vehicles (two-, three- or Four-wheelers) or entering the state in any other mode shall undergo mandatory institutional/ paid quarantine for 14 days in Cluster TMC to be managed by BDO/ EO of Urban areas.
  4. The District Administrations shall ensure appropriate facilities and logistic support to Cluster TMC. Such TMCs shall be operated as per guidelines of SRC office.
  5. People travelling from West Bengal to other States through Odisha shall be allowed without disembarking from the vehicle en-route inside Odisha.
  6. Sarpanch(s)/ Ward Member (s) of PRIS & volunteers shall be mobilised to Create awareness in their areas and further report to BDO/Police Station/ Local Authorities about any person coming from West Bengal not quarantined in institutional facilities.
  7. All passengers coming from West Bengal alighting at Bhubaneswar/ JharsugudaAirport shall be mandatorily subjected to institutional quarantine/ paid quarantine for 14 daysat facilities identified /ordered by District Magistrate/ Municipal Commissioner or any officer duly authorised on his/her behalf.
  8. Any person who has been successfully vaccinated (two doses) and produces certificate to the effect or tested Negative (-ve) in RTPCR test (report to be produced) within 48 hours of entering Odisha, may be allowed home quarantine for 14 days. However, in case of non-compliance of the Covid protocols and Home quarantine guidelines issued by MoHFW/ H&FW Department of Government of Odisha, such persons shall be quarantined in institutional facility for fourteen (14) days.
    Any person violating these measures will be liable to be proceeded against in accordance with the provisions of Section 51 to 60 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005, the Epidemic Diseases Act, 1897 and Regulations issued thereunder besides taking legal action under Section 188 of the IPC and other legal provisions as applicable.