Bhubaneswar: Congress president Rahul Gandhi has appointed former union minister Jitendra Singh as the new All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretary in-charge of Odisha. He has replaced BK Hariprasad.

The move of the AICC to appoint a new Odisha Congress in-charge comes a month after the party’s dismal performance in the Bijepur by-poll, in which Congress candidate Pranaya Sahu managed to garner 10274 votes only and forfeited his deposits.

Welcoming the appointment of Singh, the former Odisha PCC president, Niranjan Patnaik, has twitted, “I welcome the young & dynamic Sh Jitendra Singh ji as the new AICC in-charge of Odisha Congress. With his experience & guidance Odisha Congress will achieve greater heights.”

It was in June 2030, AICC had appointed BK Hariprasad as Odisha Congress in-charge in place of Jagdish Tytler.

And, Hariprasad had in March last year tendered his resignation from the post owning moral responsibility for the party’s poor performance in the panchayat polls. His resignation, however, was rejected by the then Congress President Sonia Gandhi.