Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government Saturday effected a major reshuffled in the bureaucracy adhering the election commission’s guideline that officers those have completed 3 years in a station and those posted in their home district be transferred before the date for the general elections announced.

Samarth Verma New BMC Commissioner

The government has transferred as many as eight IAS officers and about 35 senior OAS officers.

The Angul collector, Anil Samal, a 2003-batch IAS officer, has been posted as Revenue Divisional Commissioner(Central Divsion) that was laying vacant for some time. He will be replaced by BDA secretary Manoj Kumar Mohanty. Sambalpur collector Samarth Verma has been posted as commissioner Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation(BMC). A 2011-batch IAS officer Verma will replace Subham Saxena.

Jagatsinghpur collector Yamini Sarangi, a 2008 batch IAS officer, has been appointed as joint secretory in the health & family welfare department. She will be replaced by her batch mate Rayagada collector Guha Poonam Tapas Kumar.

Private secretary to works and steel & mines minister Pramod Kumar Behera has been appointed as collector Rayagada.

Jharsuguda Collector Bibhuti Bhusan Patnaik has been appointed as director tourism replacing Archana Patnaik. The 2002-batch officer Archan’s additional responsibility as director tourism will terminated with effect from Patnaik’s joining in the new post.

Bibhuti Bhusan Das at present posted as additional secretary in health & family welfare department has been appointed as Jharsuguda collector.