Bargarh: Naveen Patnaik led ruling BJD Thursday made a new record in winning assembly elections. BJD’s Rita Sahu has registered a thumping victory in Bijepur bypoll by a record margin of 97,994 votes. The earlier record was by Biswabhusan Harichandan, who is now the governor of Andhra Pradesh. Harichandan had won the Bhubaneswar assembly seat in 2004 by a margin of 93,000 votes.

Rita Sahu has got 1,35,957 votes as against her nearest rival Sanat Gadatia of BJP’s 37,967 votes. The Congress’s Dilip Panda has to satisfy with a meager 5873 votes.

The bypoll to the Bijepur assembly constituency in Bargarh district was held on October 21. The seat was vacant following the resignation of chief minister Naveen Patnaik who had won two seats –Hinjili and Bijepur– in the 2019 State assembly elections.