Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government Wednesday constituted the Odisha State Commission for Backward Classes under the chairmanship of justice Raghunath Biswal.

The government has appointed Dr Navneeta Rath, Mitali Chinara and Prasanna Kumar Patra as members of the Commission. The food and consumer welfare secretary Veer Vikram Yadav has been nominated as member secretary of the Commission.

Justice Biswal was a former judge of Odisha high court and former president of State Consumer Dispute Redressal Commission. Navneeta is a distinguished social scientist, while Mitali Chinara is an economic professor in Utkal University. Prasanna Patra is an anthropologist.