Bhubaneswar: The three-day meeting of five Machine Translation (MT) Consortia was concluded, here at IIIT-Bhubaneswar on Friday. The five MT Consortia include DISCO-MT, HimangY (IL-ILMT), ISHAAN, VIDYAPATI and EILMT.

The members had extensive discussion on the engineering and productization aspects of the MT systems to be developed under the BHASHINI project funded by union ministry of electronics and IT (MeitY).

Prof Rajiv Sangal (ex-director IIIT-Hyderabad , IIT- Bhubaneswar and chairman PRSG) along with the chief investigators (CIs) Prof Dipti Sharma Mishra of IIITH, Prof Puspak Bhattacharya of IITB, Prof L Sobha of AUKBC were present in the meeting.

The CIs, Principal Investigators (PIs) and Team Members (TMs) of the participating institutes joined the meeting during these TT3 days. The Institutes are

IIT Bombay
Gauhati University
NIT Silchar
IIIT ManipurD
University of TTNorth Bengal
IIIT Hyderabad
Goa University
Jawaharlal Nehru University
IIT Patna
CDAC Kolkata
Jadavpur University
C-DAC, Pune
Dharmsinh Desai University, Gujarat
DAIICT, Gandhinagar
AUKBC, Chennai

The PI of HimangY and EILMT for Odia language Prof Rakesh Chandra Balabantaray coordinated the meeting along with their team members. Director, IIIT Bhubaneswar Prof Asish Ghosh interacted with the PIs for future collaboration in research in the Institute.

By: Aditya Nayak.