Bhubaneswar: It was way back in the year 1930, the then Maharaja of Nilgiri estate Odisha Raja Kishore Chandra Mardaraj laid the Railway track from Nilgiri to Balasore. After nearly about 100 years train rolled on the route on Saturday. Of course, the single line has been upgraded to a double line in the meanwhile.

Union railways minister Ashwini Vaishnaw Saturday flagged off Gopinathpur -Nilgiri – Balasore new MEMU train service and dedicated to the nation the new Balasore-Gopinathpur Nilgiri passenger line at a colourful function held at Gopinathpur Nilgiri Railway Station.
The railway minister congratulated the local people of Gopinathpaur and Nilgiri for getting the first ever passenger train connectivity upto Balasore. He said that, with a view to extend the railway network in the State of Odisha, Indian Railways has fulfilled the commitment of new station building, new passenger line and new MEMU Service for the area. Local MP Pratap Chandra Sarangi and local MLA Sukanta Kumar Nayak were present at the inaugural function held at Gopinathpur-Nilgiri.

Tree pairs of MEMU trains will run over this route daily.

The regular run of the MEMU trains will commence from 14.01.2024 and All MEMU Trains will stop at Sutei Badagan station enroute.
Later, at a function held at Betnoti station, Shri Ashwini Vaishnaw, Hon’ble Minister of Railways laid the foundation stone for Subway at Betnoti station. The Subway will be constructed as a part of providing more passenger amenities. It will ensure smooth entry and exit of passengers and free movement of local people. He has also inaugurated the New PRS Counter at Betnoti Station. The newly opened PRS Counter will provide convenient and time saving ticket booking facility for the local residents
Union minister Bishweswar Tudu, Pratap Chandra Sarangi, MLA Sanatan Bijuli were present during the function held at Betnoti.
Anil Kumar Mishra, general manager, South Eastern Railway welcomed the railway minister and other guests at both the functions held at Gopinathpur -Nilgiri and Betnoti. K R Chaudhary, divisional railway manager, Kharagpur and other principal officers of South Eastern Railway were also present at the functions.