Bhubaneswar : In a major stride towards a sustainable energy future, the Single Window Committee (SWC) of the Energy Department, chaired by secretary Vishal Kumar Dev, has approved investment proposals worth Rs.903.41 crores. This substantial investment aims to establish transformative green energy projects, reinforcing the state’s commitment to meeting its renewable energy (RE) target of 10 GW by 2030.

In its 6th meeting, the SWC sanctioned significant investments in the RE sector, covering two major wind energy projects and several solar power initiatives.

HPCL Renewable & Green Energy will set up a 48 MW wind energy project in Umerkote in Nawarangpur district, while ONGC Tripura Power Company  will develop a 49.5 MW wind energy project in Astaranga in Puri district. The total investment for these wind energy projects stands at Rs 881.28 crores.

Similarly, Visaka Industries will implement a 0.72 MW solar project in Maneswar in Sambalpur district, ITC will establish a 0.8 MW solar project in Jatani in Khordha district, AMP Energy will develop a 2.2 MW solar project in Kansbahal, Sundergarh district and Odisha Television Ltd. will set up a 1 MW solar project in Sarua, Khordha district. The total investment for these solar power projects stand at Rs.22.13 crores.

These approved projects, with a combined capacity of 102.22 MW, mark a significant advancement in Odisha’s renewable energy landscape.

Till date, SWC of Energy Department has approved investment proposals totaling to Rs. 3723.57 crores with 499. 48 MW capacity in RE Sector under the Odisha Renewable Energy Policy, 2022.