Bhubaneswar: Sushil Kumar Lohani, Odisha cadre IAS officer of 1995 batch, has been appointed as the chief electoral officer(CEO) of Odisha by the Election Commission of India (ECI). He will replace Surendra Kumar.

Currently, Lohani is serving as the Commissioner-cum-Secretary to Excise Department of Odisha Government. He has been given additional charge of Commissioner, Commercial Taxes after a major reshuffle effected at IAS level on August 7.

Lohani is taking over the charge of CEO of Odisha at a time the State is going to have by-elections for Bijepur assembly constituency . The by-poll will be held on October 21.