Bhubaneswar: At least six corporate houses- Tata Power, Grasim, Rourkela Steel Plant (RSP), Mahanadi Coalfield Ltd. (MCL), Indian Oil Corporation Ltd.(IOCL) and Jindal Stainless Ltd. (JSL)- have set up their Covid Care Centres (CCCs) and made those operational.

“Review shows that within a very short period of time, seven industries have made their CCCs operational. These include 400 bed CCC set up by Tata Power at Jajpur, 150 bed CCC by Tata Power at Duburi, 20 bed CCC by Grasim Industries Ltd at Ganjam, 25 bed facility by Rourkela Steel Plant at Sector-6, 100 bed facility by IOCL at Paradeep, 170 bed CCC by Mahanadi Coal Field at Lakhanpur, Jharsuguda, and, 30 bed facility by Jindal Stainless Ltd at Jajapur road. These industries have been able to operationalise their facilities within a period of five days, ” said the Odisha chief secretary Asit Tripathy.

The chief secretary Wednesday reviewed the progress of CCCs being set by the Corporate houses in response to the chief minister’s call for them.

The review showed that while seven CCCs have become functional, 12 CCCs by eight other industries and PSUs have expedited the work to an advanced stage. These include 15 bed CCC by NLC India Ltd in Jharsuguda, 20 bed facility by Paradeep Phosphates Ltd at Paradeep, 35 bed facility by IFFCO at Paradeep, 40 bed facility by IOCL inside its township at Paradeep, 20 bed facility by Vedanta Limited at Lanjigarh, 50 bed facility by Vedanta Limited at Jharsuguda, total 30 bed facility by IMFA at three places namely Therubali, Choudwar and Sukinda, 50 bed facility by Mahanadi Coal field Ltd. at Burla, 30 bed facility by Jindal Stainless Limited at Kalinganagar, 30 bed CCC facility by ACC Limited at Bargarh, 80 bed facility by TATA Steel at Kalinga Nagar, and 35 bed facility by State Bank of India at Puri. In addition to this IDCO will also set up one facility for MSMEs.
Development commissioner Suresh Chandra Mohapatra, ACS Health & Family Welfare Pradeepta Kumar Mohapatra, principal secretary industry Hemant Sharma, principal secretary finance Ashok Kumar Meena, secretary skill development & technical education and CMD IDCO Sanjay Kumar Singh, secretray electronics and IT Manoj Mishra participated in deliberations.