Rourkela: The NIT campus in Rourkela is celebrating the news that its student duo emerged as NTPC ‘Electron Quiz 2017’ champion.

Nishant Nihar and Abhishek Patra of NIT Rourkela won the first prize in the quiz competion, held at Patna. IIM Ranchi team comprising of Ravi Kumar Gupta and Nikhil Gaekwad finished second while host team of Shalini and Roushan Kumar of Chandragupta Institute of Management Patna(CIMP) satisfied itself with third prize.

The winners team received cash prizes from the NTPC regional executive director, East-I, KS Garbyal. While the Odisha team awarded Rs 30,000, the Ranchi and Patna teams received Rs20,000 and Rs10,000 respectively.

The three teams now qualified to participate in the national final to be held on August 19 at NTPC Business School, Nodia.

‘Electron Quiz 2017’, is being organized at regional level by the NTPC Eastern Region I. About 53 teams from engineering and management colleges in Bihar, Odisha and Jaharkhand region participated in the Patna competition.